Key milestones in Atal Bihari Vajpayee's political journey

1942 - Joined the Quit India Movement, jailed during freedom struggle

1951 - Founder-member of the erstwhile Jana Sangh

1957 - Becomes leader of the Jana Sangh, 1957 - Elected to Lok Sabha

1962 - Elected to Rajya Sabha

1968 - President, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (1968-1973)

975 - Placed under house arrest during Emergency

1977 - Founder-member of the Janata Party (1977-1980)

1977 - Became the first non-Congress External Affairs Minister

1979 - Makes memorable speech in Hindi at the UN

1980 - President, BJP (1980-1986)

1984 - Loses Lok Sabha election from his home town Gwalior

1992 - Conferred Padma Vibhushan

1994 Conferred the Lokmanya Tilak Puruskar and Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant Award for the Best Parliamentarian

1996 - Became PM, but his government lasts only 13 days

1998 - NDA comes to power, sworn in as PM for the 2nd time

1998 - His govt carries out a series of successful nuclear tests at Pokharan in May

1999 - The bus journey to Pakistan in February 1999 was widely acclaimed for starting a new era of negotiations to resolve the outstanding problems of the sub-continent.

- India wins the Kargil war, Vajpayee hailed for his successful handling of the situation in repulsing back the intruders from the Indian soil
- Resigns after his government loses a parliamentary vote of confidence on April 13, 1999
- Sworn in again as PM for the third time on October 13,1999 after his party and its allies regain control

2001 - Talks at the Agra Summit with Musharaf break down